Norskies’ Bryce Johnson named SIJHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player for 2019-20

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Thief River Falls Norskies captain Bryce Johnson has been named the recipient of  Most Sportsmanlike Player Award for the 2019-20 season.

The winner was determined in voting completed by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs.

Johnson earned the accolades over fellow nominees Ben Hoefler of the Fort Frances Lakers and Jacob Brown of the Thunder Bay North Stars.

A solid campaign saw the 19-year-old Roseau, Minn., product led Thief River Falls in offensive production, registering 59 points in 49 outings on 20 tallies and 39 assists, all of which were personal single-season bests in league play.

He also finished fourth in overall SIJHL scoring, while accumulating just four minor penalties on the year.

A veteran of 104 league contests, Johnson boasts 109 points on 39 markers and 70 helpers to his credit.

The following are the SIJHL’s all-time Most Sportsmanlike Player award honourees:

2019-20: Bryce Johnson, Thief River Falls Norskies
2018-19: Nick Lucas, Fort Frances Lakers
2017-18: Nick Lucas, Fort Frances Lakers (Co-recipient)
2017-18: Alex Maticic, Thunder Bay North Stars (Co-recipient)
2016-17: Dylan Kooner, Fort Frances Lakers
2015-16: Andrew Willner, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Evan Erickson, Minnesota Iron Rangers
2013-14: Matthias Gardiman, Thunder Bay North Stars
2012-13: Jacob Nolan, Fort Frances Lakers
2011-12: Dane Morin, Sioux Lookout Flyers
2010-11: Tyler Stevenson, Fort Frances Lakers
2009-10: Mike Lennon, Dryden Ice Dogs
2008-09: Joel Langevin, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Michael Thibert, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2006-07: Justin Gvora, Thunder Bay Bearcats (Co-recipient)
2006-07: Josh Slobodian, Fort William North Stars (Co-recipient)
2005-06: Tyler Tesh, Dryden Ice Dogs
2004-05: Steve Atkins, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Joel Poshtar, Dryden Ice Dogs
2002-03: A.J. Tucker, Borderland Thunder (Co-recipient)
2002-03: Eric Robin, K&A Golden Hawks (Co-recipient)
2001-02: Charlie Washipabano, Featherman Hawks

Photo credit: Gary Moskalyk