The Thunder Bay North Stars Junior A hockey team has roots in local Junior A hockey dating back to the early 1920’s with such teams as the Fort William War Veterans (Memorial Cup champs in 1922) and the Port Arthur North Stars.

After the fall of the Thunder Bay Flyers (who played in the USHL) in 2000, there was a rebirth of Junior A hockey in Thunder Bay and surrounding area with the establishment of the Superior International Junior Hockey League in 2001. The SIJHL originally had five teams, including the Thunder Bay Wolves, which in their second year were purchased by the Fort William First Nation and a group of seven businessmen from the Band, thus becoming the Fort William North Stars. Gerald Bannon eventually became the sole owner and operator of the team from 2003 – 2010.

In October 2010 the Fort William North Stars folded. Their assets, roster, personnel and name were transferred to a new ownership group comprised of local Thunder Bay business people. The team name was changed to the Thunder Bay North Stars to reflect that they are the only Thunder Bay team remaining in the SIJHL. The North Stars are truly now Thunder Bay’s team.

Late summer of 2012, the Thunder Bay North Stars saw new ownership again, with Doug Gunsinger at the helm. Gunsinger operated the team for three seasons before selling to Scott and Kris Kellaway in July of 2015.

The 2005-06 North Stars are one of only two teams in SIJHL history to have won the Dudley Hewitt Cup (which they hosted that year) and go on to play in the Royal Bank Cup.

Dudley Hewitt Cup winner


Bill Salonen Trophy winner

2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010

SIJHL Regular Season winner

2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2008-09, 2009-10